Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is made up of Nursery and Reception (ages 3 to 4 and 4 to 5). 

Key Stage 1 covers Years 1 and 2. The children in these classes will be 5 to 6 and 6 to 7 years of age respectively. At the beginning of Year 1,  children begin work on the National Curriculum.

Key Stage 2 covers Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 and the children in these classes continue to study the National Curriculum. 


Find out why National Curriculum levels no longer exist by clicking here.

Download a free parents guide to the New National Curriculum.